Contact us

Hillcrest High School
141 Masters Ave
Hamilton
PO Box 11020
Hillcrest
Hamilton 3251
New Zealand

Phone +64 7 857 0297 

Email:
General Enquiries:
 office@hillcrest-high.school.nz
Absences/change details:
 notify@hillcrest-high.school.nz

 

General enquiries:

Absence notification:

 


 

Contact Staff Members

Senior Leaders

Principal                       
Mr K S Whiting,
kwhiting@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Deputy Principal
Mr J Williams,
jwilliams@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Assistant Principal      
Mrs S Radford
sradford@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Assistant Principal 
Mrs S Collett
scollett@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Assistant Principal      
Mr D Franicevic
dfranice@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Business Manager       
Mr A Macdiarmid
amacdiarmid@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Administration

Principal's Assistant   
Mrs K Ralph
office@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Director of Sport                         
Mr R Overmayer
rovermayer@hillcrest-high.school.nz

 

Director of International Students           
Mrs R Selby,
rselby@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Careers/Gateway/Star/Vocational Pathways        
Mr S Barry,
sbarry@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Guidance Counsellors

Guidance Counsellor
Ms M E McGarry,
mmcgarry@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Guidance Counsellor
Mr T Harker,
tharker@hillcrest-high.school.nz


Guidance Counsellor
Ms J Coles,
jcoles@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Deans

Year 9 

DEAN 
Mr T Pouwels 
tpouwels@hillcrest-high.school.nz 

ASSISTANT DEAN
Mrs H Gregory (GG) 
hgregory@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Year 10

DEAN
Ms M Raleigh (RL) 
mraleigh@hillcrest-high.school.nz

ASSISTANT DEAN
Ms E Hamilton (HA)
ehamilton@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Year 11 

DEAN
Mr B Chibnall 
bchibnal@hillcrest-high.school.nz

ASSISTANT DEAN
Ms A Chard (CR) 
achard@hillcrest-high.school.nz

 


Year 12 

DEAN 
Miss C Warner (WN) 
cwarner@hillcrest-high.school.nz

ASSISTANT DEAN
TBA

Year 13 

DEAN 
Mr B Kennedy 
bkennedy@hillcrest-high.school.nz 

ASSISTANT DEAN
Miss L Campbell (CM) 
lcampbell@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Heads Of Faculties

Arts
Mrs S Binks
sbinks@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Social Science (Acting)                           
Mr R Cox 
rcox@hillcrest-high.school.nz

English                                         
Mrs R Jamieson
rjamieso@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Careers & Pathways                        
Mr S Barry
sbarry@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Business & ICT                           
Ms M McKnight
mmcknigh@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Inclusive Education                           
Mrs J Richardson
jrichardson@hillcrest-high.school.nz

 

 


Mathematics                                
Mr S Achary 
sachary@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Science                                        
Mr C Taylor
crtaylor@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Technology (Acting)                                  
Mrs S Paris
sparis@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Physical Ed/Health/Outdoor Education  
Mr H Uivel
huivel@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Languages                                  
Dr M Taylor
mtaylor@hillcrest-high.school.nz

English Language Learning                                   
Mrs J Blank
jblank@hillcrest-high.school.nz

 

Staff

Maths
Rhys Abrahams (AS) 
rabrahams@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Maths 
Sheilendra Achary (AC)  
sachary@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Japanese 
Fumiko Akiyama (AK) 
fakiyama@hillcrest-high.school.nz

English Language Learning
Janette Allen (AN) 
jallen@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Vocational Pathways 
Pip Alsemgeest (AL) 
palsemgeest@hillcrest-high.school.nz

English 
Elizabeth Anderson (AD)  
eanderson@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Science
Shannon Andrews (AR) 
sandrews@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Humanities 
Richard Baggs (BR) 
rbaggs@hillcrest-high.school.nz

English 
Margie Bardsley (BD) 
mbardsley@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Digital Technology
Cathy Bourke (BE) 
cbourke@hillcrest-high.school.nz

PhysEd 
Natasha Brill (BL)  
nbrill@hillcrest-high.school.nz

English/Drama
Claire Brougham (BM) 
cbrougham@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Science
Matthew Bryant (BW) 
mbryant@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Science
Nick Bryant (BN) 
nbryant@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Technology Food / Fabrics
Jane Campbell (CB)
jcampbel@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Social Science/Asst. Dean Yr 13 
Lisa Campbell (CM)
lcampbell@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Drama
Merran Cash (CS)
mcash@hillcrest-high.school.nz

English / Drama / Assistant Dean Year 11
Amber Chard (CR) 
achard@hillcrest-high.school.nz 

Science/Dean of Year 11 
Brett Chibnall (CH)
bchibnal@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Maths
Kew Bi Chin (CK)
kchin@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Science Physics 
Siong Chin (CI) 
ychin@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Art 
Rochelle Clemens (CO) 
rclemens@hillcrest-high.school.nz 

Guidance
Jill Coles (CL)
jcoles@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Assistant Principal / French
Sarah Collett (CT) 
scollett@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Music
Mervyn Cook (CV)
mcook@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Design & Visual Communication / Art 
Alana Cooper (CN)  
acooper@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Maths
Sean Cosford (CD)
scosford@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Humanities/ Acting HOF Humanities
Ryan Cox (CX)
rcox@hillcrest-high.school.nz

PhysEd
Aroha Crombie (CA)  
acrobie@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Spanish
Allyn Danzeisen (DS)
adanzeisen@hillcrest-high.school.nz

ILC
Margaret Ellery (ET)
mellery@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Humanities
Bradley Evelyn (EV)
bevelyn@hillcrest-high.school.nz

ILC
Kylie Fletcher-Mathews (FM)
kfletcher-mathews@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Assistant Principal / Maths
Dan Franicevic (FR)
dfranice@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Technology Wood
Mike Gilliver (GV)
mgilliver@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Independent Living Centre
Chanelle Godfrey
cgodfrey@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Maths
Uttra Goundar (GD)
ugoundar@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Business/Accounting
Stephanie Gourdie (GI)
sgourdie@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Careers
Sally Graham (GRA)
sgraham@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Art
Heather Green  (GE)
hgreen@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Science / Assist Dean Yr 9
Hannah Gregory (GG) 
hgregory@hillcrest-high.school.nz

PhysEd 
Josh Groom (GM)
jgroom@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Maths
David Hall (HD)
dhall@hillcrest-high.school.nz

English/Assistant Dean Yr 10  
Erica Hamilton (HA)
ehamilton@hillcrest-high.school.nz

English
Sue Hanson-Smith (HS)
shanson@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Guidance (on leave)
Tim Harker (HR)
tharker@hillcrest-high.school.nz

English
Hannah Hawthorn (HN)
hhawthorn@hillcrest-high.school.nz

PhysEd / Sports Development
Gerard Hay (HY)
ghay@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Art
Ruth Hickman (HL)
rhickman@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Maths
Linda Hirst (HI)
lhirst@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Technology Metal/Motors / Electronics
Dominic Hopkirk (HC)
dhopkirk@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Mandarin
Christina Howard-Shi (SI)
chshi@hillcrest-high.school.nz

English
Robyn Jamieson (JM)
rjamieso@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Technology Construction (on leave 2019)
David Kallahar (KR)
dkallahar@hillcrest-high.school.nz

PhysEd / Dean Y13 
Ben Kennedy (KD)
bkennedy@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Science
Karamat Khan (KN)
kkhan@hillcrest-high.school.nz

English
Rachel Kuysten (KT)
rkuysten@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Maths
Avinesh Lal (LL)
alal@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Digital Technology
Kath Langman (LA)
klangman@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Technology Food
Mary MacKenzie (ME)
mmackenzie@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Maths
Iain Maclaurin (MR)
imaclaurin@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Guidance
Mary-Ellen McGarry (MG)
mmcgarry@hillcrest-high.school.nz

PhysEd
Colleen McIlroy (MI)
cmcilroy@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Economics
Mary McKnight (MK)
mmcknigh@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Vocational Pathways
Tony Moxham (MX)
tmoxham@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Music / Humanities
Rhiannon Murdoch (MH)
rmurdoch@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Technology Metal
John O’Brien (OB)
jobrien@hillcrest-high.school.nz

ILC
Raewyn O’Connor (OC)
roconnor@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Technology Design & Visual Communication
Samantha Oehley (OL)
soehley@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Humanities  
Bree O'Riley (OY)
boriley@hillcrest-high.school.nz

English
Elizabeth Pamment (PA)
epamment@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Physed 
Natalie Parsons-Roberts (PB) 
nparsons-roberts@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Technology Food
Sara Paris (PR)
sparis@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Science
Amy Patrick (PT)
apatrick@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Humanities
Cameron Payne (PE)
cpayne@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Vocational Pathways
Leigh Pemberton (PN)
lpemberton@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Phys Ed/Outdoor Ed/Tourism
Katrina Pollard (PK)
kpollard@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Maths/Dean of Yr 9 
Tony Pouwels (PL)
tpouwels@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Maths / Science
Narendra Prasad (PS)
nprasad@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Science
Tony Pyne (PY)
tpyne@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Assistant Principal
Sue Radford (RD)
sradford@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Maths 
Dhirendra Raj (RJ)
draj@hillcrest-high.school.nz

English / Dean Yr 10 
Mary Raleigh (RL)
mraleigh@hillcrest-high.school.nz

HOF Inclusive Education / PAC
Julie-Anne Richardson (RD)
jrichardson@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Maths
Ingrid Rinsma (RM)
irinsma@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Guidance
Regina Rodewald (RW)
rrodewald@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Humanities / Economics
Per Rorholt (RT)
prorholt@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Spanish / Music
Annabel Rowlands (RS)
arowlands@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Home Economics
Toni Salsano (SO)
tsalsano@hillcrest-high.school.nz

English  
Marama Salsano (SK)
msalsano@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Science
Sharon Sayer (SR)
ssayer@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Dir of International Students
Rae Selby (SY)
rselby@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Science
Andrea Sharpe (SN)
asharpe@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Music
Daniel Shin (SH)
dshin@hillcrest-high.school.nz

English
Gordon Sim (SM)
gsim@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Art  
Samantha Simmonds (SC)
sgsimmonds@hillcrest-high.school.nz

HOD Learning Support
Stacey Simmons (SS) 
ssimmons@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Humanities 
Judith Smith (SJ)
jsmith@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Chemistry
Gary Steele (ST)
gsteele@hillcrest-high.school.nz

English/Classical Studies
Katrina Stevenson (SV)
kstevenson@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Media Studies
Lee Stratford (SD)
lstratford@hillcrest-high.school.nz

French / HOF Languages
Michael Taylor (TO)
mtaylor@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Science
Craig Taylor (TA)
crtaylor@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Physed
Taira Te Rito (TI)
tterito@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Business/Specialist Classroom Teacher
Jodie Terry (TE)
jterry@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Science
Usha Thakur (TR)
uthakur@hillcrest-high.school.nz

English
Kashka Tunstall (TL)
ktunstall@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Accounting / Business / Social Studies
Alistair Turner (TN)
aturner@hillcrest-high.school.nz

PhysEd / HOF PE
Hans Uivel (UV)
huivel@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Science
Suskia van der Merwe (MW)
svandermerwe@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Maori
Hemi Walker (WR)
hwalker@hillcrest-high.school.nz

English/Dean of Year 12 
Celeste Warner (WN)
cwarner@hillcrest-high.school.nz

English Language Learning 
Suzanne Weiss (WS)
sweiss@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Technology Fabrics
Ashleigh Wells (WL)
awells@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Principal
Kelvin Whiting (KSW)
kwhiting@hillcrest-high.school.nz

Deputy Principal / Humanities
Jarred Williams (WM)

Maths
Craig Wilson (WI)
cwilson@hillcrest-high.school.nz